Baseline

Yesterday I woke up at 5:30 a.m., 45 minutes later than planned, and RUSHED out the door to get on the road to the clinic.  Fortunately, I didn’t get stuck in the worst of morning rush hour, so I did my lab work, ultrasound, and made it back home by 10:30 a.m.

Doctor said everything looked “as expected.”  I got the all-clear to call the pharmacy, order my meds and charge the $3,975.06 to my credit card.  Meds will be on my doorstep, requiring a signature, before 10:30 a.m. on Saturday morning.  The next 20 days or so I will be in the heart of an IVF schedule.

Today I stop birth control, Sunday (7/23) I start stims (follistim and menoupur).

My trigger shot will be anywhere from cycle day 9 – cycle day 14, although the doctor said most commonly it will fall on 10, 11 or 12. Egg Retrieval will be 2 days after that, Embryo Transfer will be 3 or 5 days after that.  I am booking myself for 2 days of recovery or bed rest after the transfer.  No one has told me this is necessary, but I am a Nervous Nelly and have heard this can help.  I want stress and strain to be as far from my mind and body as humanly possible as it recovers from an IVF cycle and hopes to make a suitable home for an embryo. 

In true accountant fashion, I made a spreadsheet to help assess what my next two weeks could look like.  This helped me decide I will take off work the 8/7 – 8/11.  The week prior, when I am driving down to the clinic for who know how often, I am just going to tell my boss I have to be on-call that week with my doctor and may have to come in late some days or not at all (in the case of the ET).  Since I know now I can make it back by 10:30 a.m. I’m not so concerned. If he asks why, I will tell him, but I knowing him I would very surprised if he showed any desire to know about my personal life.

The IVF Cycle is almost here! It’s been almost 5 years in the making and I am so excited to be doing SOMETHING.

(T = Trigger, BW/US = Blood Work, Ultrasound, R = Retrieval, ET = Embryo Transfer)

Scenario 1 Scenario 2 Scenario 3 Scenario 4 Scenario 5 Scenario 6
Monday July 31 CD 9 T BW/US
Tuesday Aug 1 CD 10 T BW/US
Wednesday Aug 2 CD 11 R T BW/US
Thursday Aug 3 CD 12 R T BW/US
Fri Aug 4 CD 13 R T BW/US
Sat Aug 5 CD 14 ET R T
Sun Aug 6 CD 15 Recover ET R
Mon Aug 7 CD 16 ET/ Recover Recover ET R
Tues Aug 8 CD 17 Recover ET/ Recover Recover ET
Wed Aug 9 CD 18 Recover Recover ET/ Recover Recover ET
Thurs Aug 10 Recover Recover ET/ Recover Recover ET
Fri Aug 11 Recover Recover ET/ Recover Recover
Sat Aug 12 Recover Recover ET/ Recover
Sun Aug 13 Recover Recover
Mon Aug 14 Recover
Leave a Reply

