T-3 Days

Due date fast approaching.  Thanksgiving is tomorrow.  The world is exploding with COVID.  I am home on my couch, a quiet day of maternity leave, just waiting and listening to the bod for signs of labor.  So far, none.

Sleep is getting more and more difficult just because of the nervous anticipation and thoughts running through my head.  I am anxious for labor to start and to meet this little miracle baby, but also happy to have her stay in my belly for another week, giving me time to rest and sleep.  Abby has daycare 3 days a week, so I’ve relished a little time to myself.  I’ve always had a difficult time relaxing, but even things like going to Target and listing items on eBay without a 2.5 year old at my feet are such a luxury.  Times will change very soon here!

I am feeling good, weight gain held steady at about 23 lbs.  My appetite overall isn’t crazy, and since I’m carrying higher this time around I’ve had a lot of indigestion and heartburn.  The last few days MEAT and PROTEIN have sounded really delicious, which is unusual for me.  But at almost 40 weeks I walk the dog daily, can get around no problem and sling my toddler on my hip with no issues.   I’ve been told from the front and back I don’t even look pregnant, but keep in mind that’s because I have a bigger frame naturally. Overall, pregnancy has come easily for me, the first time around as well as the second.

All is comfortable with the exception of between about 8-10 PM every night, when this baby does some serious karate chops on my bladder and groin.  Baby movement in my first pregnancy was never painful; I cannot say the same for #2.  If I’m not in bed resting by the time the kicks and jabs start, I am crying out and doubling over.  So strange!  Maybe she’ll be a pro athlete.  Also, the skin on my face has been ultra sensitive and basically on fire the last couple weeks.  I’m hoping it’s hormone related and will go back to normal after I give birth.

For Thanksgiving we opted to stay home, just Ryan, Abby and I, since it’s so close to my due date.  I am regretting this a little since I’m clearly not in labor and we are missing out on the family fun.  Abby especially thrives on these gatherings.  But I also know the hassle of getting dressed, getting us all to my sister’s, and being exposed to people in general is probably a wise thing to avoid. 

So today I am taking care of some tasks on my to-do list and plan to watch some daytime TV with my kitty before picking up Abby.  This holiday weekend might bring a baby.  Or, come Monday, which happens to be my 37th birthday, I have another Doctor appointment where they’ll sweep my membranes and talk about induction.  I may try to get some good physical activity in over the weekend; I’m gunning for the 29th (Sunday) as a birthday. We shall see….

Leave a comment