17 Weeks

Today I am part way through my 17th week of pregnancy.  I just had a routine Dr. appointment where everything looks great, and next up will be the anatomy scan in a few weeks.  Dr. visits are starting to feel slightly more normal, despite masks everywhere, and overall pregnancy in the time of COVID marches on.  On this Monday in June I am lounging on my couch watching Friends reruns during a slow day/ long lunch break while “working from home.”  I know this won’t last forever, so I will enjoy it while I can!

Week: 17

Trimester: 2

Month: starting the 5th month

Weight gain: up about 7 lbs.  Overall gaining weight faster than my first pregnancy, and not eating super healthy, but trying really hard to not sweat it too much.  Putting too much pressure on myself just makes me want to rebel.  So I’m making an effort to be active and get regular exercise, eat my vegetables and plenty of protein and water, and not give the sugar indulgences too much concern.

How I’m feeling physically:  great! Literally all nausea is gone, I’m even feeling more energetic than just a month ago.  Sleeping well, getting up once or twice a night to deal with my spoiled cat which means I take a trip to the bathroom, too, but not sure if I’d be getting up otherwise.

How I’m feeling mentally/ emotionally:  For whatever reason, another 23 weeks of pregnancy seems reallllly far off.  I’m sure it will go by in a heartbeat, though.  We are both excited for this baby girl, and starting to wonder a lot what she will look like and who she will be.  Especially in comparison to such a little force as Abby, it’s mind blowing to think of an unknown individual.

Names:  The front runner at the moment is Hannah.  But been there, done that and we changed our minds last pregnancy.  I am ready to join the ranks of those who refuse to discuss names with inquiring friends/ family.  I’ve always been fairly open, but it’s been a hard road of compromise with Ryan, and when we finally reach agreement on a name there is someone to tell us they don’t like it, or suggest 5 other names we’ve already dismissed, and it’s just getting old.  That’s my complaint for the day.

Physical changes:  I have a belly! If you don’t know me, you might just think it’s a gut.  But to those who know me they say “I can see your pregnant belly!”  yup.  No other changes, though.  Same bod as usual.

Cravings:  Cravings have been pretty tame, but my consistent snack all pregnancy has been apples and cheese.  I’ve also been dreaming about vanilla ice cream and strawberries for months.  Frothy whey protein shakes, toast, pretzels and bagels have all been my jam.

Aversions:  Not really interested in meat.  Overripe watermelon – even like an hour overripe – is a no go.  Granola and other maple flavored food has given me awful heartburn.  Cooking in general is just a heinous chore, but that might not be pregnancy related.

Enjoying the Most:  I’m starting to feel some movement – just a little here and there.  I remember the special feeling of Abby swimming around in my belly and I’m looking forward to more similar bonding moments.  I’m also trying to soak up my normal routine while it lasts: watching tv in bed with Ryan before we go to sleep, snuggling with Abby in bed when she wakes up in the morning, walking the dog, working from home at my dining room table, cuddling with my kitty, all things I enjoy and know I will have to give up with a newborn.  But I remind myself it will only be for a little while, and just like before, this little one will learn to sleep and walk and talk and eventually will want me to get in bed with her in the mornings, too.  And life will be doubly rich.

Leave a comment